Fanfic: living on a prayer

I’m a slow writer, so I’m very pleased I managed to cough up one fic for Valentine’s Week AND Naruto AU Week! This is a cross-event fic for the prompts ‘First Date’ and ‘Apocalypse’.

Shoutout to drel for the fic name and to @MagnusTesla for being a lovely bean and giving feedback on this :grin:

Cross-posted to ao3.

“Iruka,” a sing-song voice called. “Go out with me.”

Iruka squinted upwards from where he had been crouched on the ground, scratching out the kanji for ‘prayer’ in the dirt for the child next to him to clumsily mimic. Kakashi leant over him, a grin sprawling easy and expectant across his face. From where he stood, his head just about blocked off the glare of the sun, making the grey on his head turn mirror-shard silver.

“How could I say no when you’re asking me so nicely,” Iruka sighed theatrically. He got up to his feet nonetheless. Usually, he was the one who had to track Kakashi down, not the other way around; he must have lost track of time. “We’ll continue this tomorrow then, Naruto. Don’t forget to practice.”

“Ugh, homework?” Naruto scrunched up his grubby face. “You don’t let me do nothing 'cept homework!”

“Then when I come back you’d better be able to write every single kanji I just taught you,” Iruka said mildly. The pained groaning from Naruto came almost on cue. “That’s what I thought.”

“Well, you think badly!” Naruto shot onto his feet from where he had been dramatically rolling around on the ground to emphasise how terrible Iruka’s suggestion was. “Hey, hey — I could go with you guys! Like the old times.” His eyes, bright and eager, immediately turned to include Kakashi. “You know I’m super helpful!”

Iruka felt hesitation raise its insidious head. Naruto would be helpful, certainly — an extra pair of eyes out there was always helpful.

Still. He moved before Naruto could recognise and think of twisting it to his favour. “We’ll be fine on our own,” he said firmly. “Practice what I just taught you.”